Isla de la Juventud Pinar del Rio Havana
Havana City Matanzas Cienfuegos
Villa Clara Sancti Spiritus
Ciudad_de_La_Habana_Graphic20.jpg Matanzas_Graphic21.jpg

Cuba consists of 14 provinces and 1 special municipality. The list of these provinces is Isla de la Juventud, Pinar del Río, La Habana, Ciudad de La Habana, Matanzas, Cienfuegos, Villa Clara, Sancti Spíritus, Ciego de Ávila, Camagüey, Las Tunas, Granma, Holguín, Santiago de Cuba and Guantánamo.

Before 1976, Cuba was divided into some provinces, which were distributed from the eastern side to the west of the country. Among them were the Pinar del Río, La Habana, Matanzas, Las Villas also called “Santa Clara” before 1940, Camagüey also called “Puerto Príncipe” before 1899, and Oriente, which was known as “Santiago de Cuba” before 1905.

The Isle of Youth or the Island of La De Juventud in Spanish is the largest Cuban island after the main island of Cuba proper and the sixth-largest island in the West Indies. The Island of La De Juventud has an area 3056 km² or 1180 square miles and is around 100 km to the southwest of mainland Cuba, across the Gulf of Batabanó. The island La De Juventud lies in the south of Havana and is famous for its economic characteristics. It is considered a Special Municipality, not being a part of any province and is ruled directly by the central government of Cuba.

The next important province of Cuba is Havana. Ciudad de La Habana, usually just known as La Habana, is the capital of the island country and has a population of more than 2.2 million. It is the largest city of Cuba and the Caribbean islands as a whole. It is located just over 90 miles to the south of Florida. Havana has always been given the right kind of boost to develop into a big city by all the rulers. It had expanded greatly in the 17th century with new buildings mainly of wood, merging various Iberian architectural styles, as well as borrowing profusely from Canadian characteristics.

Pinar del Río is famous for Cigars. It lies in the western end of the island of Cuba. The Pinar del Río province is surrounded by the Cuba’s three main mountain ranges, and forms beautiful landscape which is characterized by steep sided limestone hills and of course flat, fertile valleys. This province used to make cigars that were so famous at one time. The best tobacco, used for more expensive cigar brands, is still grown in the flat lands of this island.

The other chief province of Cuba is La Habana Province, which has its borders with the city of Havana, Pinar del Rio, and Matanzas. It has waters in the south and north region of the province and a few small cities which is positioned between the 20 and 40 largest of the island. The main source of income is agriculture, which is geared towards the production of food, primarily cattle, potatoes and fruit. Unlike much of Cuba, sugar and tobacco do not have a significant role in the province’s economy. There is also much industrialization in the province, with numerous electricity plants and sugar mills.

The other provinces have developed into pure agricultural economies and are now looking forward to trade that is more international.